Are We a Reflection of God?

My Papa and Me

My Papa and Me

I had a dream about my father and I was asking where I could get a mirror because the mirror I have was lost. And he told me that I could get them from his house. And when I went to his house, there were so many mirrors of different styles and sizes. I only chose two: one size that can reflect my face and the other one that I can see my entire body. Then I woke up.
Growing up, most of the time when I met someone and told that person my name, the reply I would get was, “Are you the daughter of Col. Julius Ovilla?” Or “You really look like your dad.” Don’t you think so?

This dream reminded me that our reflection should be based on who our God is. In Genesis 1:27 it says, “So God created mankind in his own image,in the image of God he created them;male and female he created them.” We are created to reflect who God is since we are His children. When we look at ourselves, do we see God?

As children of God, let’s devote our lifetime becoming like Him. Are we walking in love? Do we invest time knowing God and how much he loves us? So we can be a role model of what it means to be in love with God and also demonstrate His love to others. Remember, Ephesians 5:1-2 says, “Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children. And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”
Let’s evaluate ourselves and ask God, “are we becoming more like You or do we see You in our reflection?” If not, let’s draw closer to Him and ask Him to help us become the child that He desires us to be and be loving to others.

1 John 4:11-12 Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.

Leave a Reply

